Velo Club Cumbria

Open Hill Climb to be held on Saturday 2nd October 2021

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Event Secretary: **Tim Houghton** Timekeepers: Tracy Moore,

Stile Garth, Mike Westmorland.

48 Hilden Road,

Cleator, Cumbria. CA23 3DQ

Telephone: 01946 814178 Mobile: 07597 027 300

Email:tjhoughton@btinternet.com

First rider off at 14:01

Course details: L824

START at the blue 'Parking' sign near entrance to small car-park one quarter of a mile from the de-restriction sign on the Whinlatter road from Braithwaite village about 2 miles west of Keswick. **FINISH** in line with the 15% gradient sign on opposite side of road 30 yards short of entrance to Whinlatter Forest park Visitor Centre – Distance 1.75 miles.

A copy of the Risk-assessment survey and specific current risk issues will be available at sign-on at Braithwaite Village Hall, together with rider numbers.

Pushers-off – Mark Percival and Gary Whinneray will be available. It's the rider's choice whether to make use of the "pusher off" but is strongly recommended for this event due to the steep start. Following CTT Covid regulations Gary and Mark will have had a flow test prior to the event and will wear a mask for the whole of the event.

Please note the following Covid 19 Regulations issued by the CTT:

Competitors should not attend if they feel ill in ANY way or if family members have any symptoms.

An elevated resting heart rate or exceptionally quick to react heart rate during warm up can suggest an underlying asymptomatic illness of ANY kind. You should NOT start the event (DNS) and leave immediately. Do not go to the start line if you feel this is the case and notify the organiser of your intention not to start as a result of an adverse warm up. Warming up is permitted on static rollers can be permitted if strict social distancing can be maintained

Awards

1 st fastest Senior	£20	2 nd fastest Senior	£15	3 rd fastest Senior	£10
1 st fastest Vet 40	£20	2 nd fastest Vet 40	£15	3 rd fastest Vet 40	£10
1st fastest V50+	£20	2 nd fastest V50+	£15	3 rd fastest V50+	£10
1st Lady	£20	2 nd Lady	£15	3 rd Lady	£10
1st Espoir/Junior	£20	2nd Espoir/Junior	£15	3rd Espoir/Junior	£10

One rider, one prize. Prizes will be posted to riders after the event.

<u>Headquarters</u> – Thornthwaite-cum-Braithwaite Victory Memorial Hall, on the East side of the A66 road approx. 0.5 miles North of the turn to Braithwaite village. The start is about 5 minutes ride from the Headquarters. However, Braithwaite village is often very congested so please allow plenty of time to get to the start. The Hall will be open shortly after 12:30hrs.

Riders MUST sign the signing on sheet in the HQ in order to obtain their race number and sign out when returning their number. Single-use numbers may be available on the day.

There will be NO refreshments available at the HQ on this occasion.

<u>Parking</u> – There is parking available at the Headquarters. <u>No parking</u> at the climb start.

Note that no times will be given to competitors or supporters at the finish. No vehicle or competitors to stop on road or verge. Riders should proceed directly to the headquarters.

Cycling Time Trials – North D.C. 2021 - Miscellaneous Courses Regulations

The following Local Regulations have been approved by the National Committee in accordance with Regulation 38. Any breaches may lead to disciplinary action being taken.

CTT regulation 14 Competitors Machine – Rear Lights & Guidance Note No 24

No competitor shall be permitted to start either a Type A or Type B event unless such competitor has affixed to the rear of their machine **a working rear red light**, either flashing or constant, that is illuminated and in a position that is clearly visible to other road users.

CTT Regulation 17: Signing-on Sheet and Signing-Out Sheet:

- (a) The Competitors in all types of events must make themselves aware of any special safety instructions for the event and sign the official Signing-on Sheet when collecting their number.
- (b) In Type A events a competitor must return to the events HQ either during the event or within a reasonable time after the last rider has finished the even and must (i) return their number and (ii) sign the official Signing—Out Sheet

Local Reg No 5

For the duration of the event, competitors must not ride past the timekeepers, except when actually competing.

Local Reg No 6

Any competitor making a 'U' turn in the vicinity of the start or finish will be disqualified from the event.

Local Reg No10

Warming up on the course is not permitted during the duration of the event

Local Reg No 15

Riders must keep to the left hand side of the road except when overtaking. Failure to comply with the above may lead to disqualification.

IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE

Riders must give their number at the finish and elsewhere on the course if requested.

Riders must NOT STAND in the road at the start or finish (this constitutes obstruction and is a breach of Regulations.)

Riders must NOT ride with their heads down.

All competitors under the age of 18 and/or JUNIORS and/or JUVENILES must wear a HELMET of HARD/SOFT SHELL that conforms to a recognized standard (see Regulation 15). Cycling Time Trials strongly recommends ALL competitors to wear such a helmet.

Would all riders please take special care on the descent back to Braithwaite (steep descent with sharp bends and risk of oncoming traffic on the wrong side of the road in order to pass other competitors ascending the climb), through Braithwaite village (very narrow road with blind bends), and on the A66 back to the HQ (fast traffic).

Number	Start Time	Firstname	Lastname	Club
1	14:01:00	Kieran	Hoban	Velo Club Cumbria
2	14:02:00	Dan	Taylor	Leicester Forest CC
3	14:03:00	Simon	Horsley	Legato Racing Team (LRT)
4	14:04:00	Robert	Goulding	Velo Club Cumbria
5	14:05:00	Martin	Ferguson	Hoppers Rollers
6	14:06:00	Sean	Hoban	Velo Club Cumbria
7	14:07:00	Keith	Melvin	Rock to Roll CC
8	14:08:00	Brian	Whiteley	Doncaster Wheelers C.C.
9	14:09:00	Kenneth	Brown	Velo Club Cumbria
10	14:10:00	Kieran	Wynne-Cattanach	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion
11	14:11:00	Rick	Bailey	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion
12	14:12:00	Rebecca	Richardson	Team Brother UK
13	14:13:00	Christopher	Brown	Harry Middleton CC
14	14:14:00	Alan	Cornthwaite	Velo Club Cumbria
15	14:15:00	Ross	Phillipson	Springfield Financial Racing Team
16	14:16:00	Jose	Pinon Shaw	Ribble Valley Crossroads Care Cycling Team
17	14:17:00	Natalie	Stevenson	Eat Plants Not Pigs CC
18	14:18:00	Julian	Cook	Velo Club Cumbria
19	14:19:00	Francesca	Counsell	Bella in Sella Racing
20	14:20:00	Todd	Oates	Kendal Cycle Club
21	14:21:00	David	Gibson	Border City Whs CC
22	14:22:00	Jerome	Jacob	Mango Go!
23	14:23:00	Jac	Prydderch	Clwb Beicio Egni/Energy Cycling Club
24	14:24:00	George	Hodgkinson	Chorley Cycling Club
25	14:25:00	George	Baker	Barrow Central Wheelers
26	14:26:00	Hannah	Farran	Team Boompods
27	14:27:00	Duncan	Edwards	Harrogate Nova CC
28	14:28:00	Tom	Stephenson	Lakes Road Club
29	14:29:00	Martin	Mikkelsen-Barron	Velo Club Cumbria
30	14:30:00	Jude	Taylor	Crimson Orientation Marketing RT